Movies I Should’ve Watched Sooner: Top Gun

Should I have watched Top Gun sooner?

Probably yeah

Did I enjoy Top Gun?

I did, but maybe not as much as I probably would have 10 years ago.

What didn’t I like about Top Gun?

I felt as though the Kelly McGillis story was only there to add an extra dimension to Tom Cruise’s Maverick. I couldn’t invest in any of the relationships between the characters of Maverick and Goose as well as the raw sexual tension Cruise and Kilmer’s Iceman left me feeling somewhat uneasy, as if I wasn’t meant to watching what I was seeing.

Did I manage to find any positive in watching Top Gun for the first time?

The tongue-in-cheek one liners, the comically poor choice of repeating Kenny Loggins at least 4 times during seperate occasions through the film and the high levels of irony in pretty much every spoken line.

So is this a positive review?

Unfortunately not, if this were a contest the scores would be:

  • Round 1: Plot – 4/10
  • Round 2: Characters – 4/10
  • Round 3 Overall Enjoyment – 4/10
  • Final Score 12/30

Will I watch it again?

Probably, but only if there was nothing else on at the time.

1 Comment

  1. Hi Reffing Movies,
    I almost became an entertainment blogger. I was done after one review of Gone Girl. We saw and liked Top Gun and Planes, Trains, and Automobiles.
    I met you in the Community Pool where you indicated you are a new blogger. Congratulations on recently starting your blog. I help new bloggers at my site. Tips for engaging readers, improving content, and increasing traffic are waiting for you. For example, one of my articles, http://www.mostlyblogging.com/79-most-effective-ways-free-blog-traffic/, explained 79 free ways to increase blog traffic.
    I brought you the link to my About page, so you can read more about what my blog can do for you.
    http://www.mostlyblogging.com/about/
    I also have ten networking events each month where you could meet new subscribers.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

