Movies I Should’ve Watched Sooner: The Princess Bride

Should I have watched “The Princess Bride” sooner?

Yes.

Why has it taken nearly 30 years to watch such a classic tale?

I’m so sorry to say this, but I hadn’t even heard of The Princess Bride until the middle of last year. I’m sure there are a countless number of people out there that have treasured and adored this film since its release in 1987, however, as the ignorant person I knowingly acknowledge myself to be, I can honestly say that before today I have unwillingly neglected a storytelling classic.

Did I enjoy it?

More so than I expected! I have recently started to read “Life Moves Pretty Fast” by Hadley Freeman and her analysis on it fascinated me so much I felt as though I was missing out on something really special.

And was I missing out on something special?

What truly amazed me about The Princess Bride was that this, at its core, is a simple love story between two ailing people separated by circumstances beyond their control. Circumstances that transcend the originally perceived idea of a fantasy love story. From the cowardly Prince doing his upmost to take control of the Kingdom, to the relationship between Fizzig and Inigo, each subplot is wonderfully textured in such a way to make this one of the most enjoyable films I’ve seen for a while.

Would I recommend The Princess Bride to someone that Should’ve Watched it Sooner?

I would yeah! Don’t let anyone say that this is a film made for pre-teen girls. This is a film that warmly welcomes audiences of every possible category. From fencing to falling in love, there are no stones left unturned throughout this incredibly lovable tale.

Leave a Reply

