Movies I Should’ve Watched Sooner: 2001 A Space Odyssey (feat @KenMajor83)

2001: A Space Odyssey is considered one of the greatest movies of all time, a film included on countless lists written by highly regarded critics and movie lovers alike. How has it taken this long to watch it for the first time?

With such a wealth of cinematic history I think everyone will inevitably have some cultural black spots, last year I brought the 1001 Movies To See Before You Die Book as a guide to see what I’ve been missing out on.

The fact that The Shining is one of my all-time favorite films and with my love of Sci-Fi I really don’t know why it’s taken so long to see this Kubrick classic.

The only thing I can offer is having the popular Unlimited card so I tend to catch all the new releases but neglect the classics, that’s one of the reason why I brought the book.

Is it a film you’ve wanted to watch for a long time? Or is it something more recent?

The main reason I picked this one out of the book is due to Skip To The End. I enjoy  listening to podcasts at work and this is one of my favorites! They have a popular feature called the ‘Rewatch’. 2001 was re-viewed on a recent episode so this gave me the impetuous I needed to finally watch this movie.

What were your expectations going in before watching it? Were they justified?

It’s a movie that I have been aware of for such a long time and I couldn’t help but go in with high expectations, thankfully they were met.

Were there any moments that stood out in particular?

The whole movie has been spoofed so much that it’s hard to pick out a specific moment, I would certainly say that the second half certainly ups the drama. It was nice however to be able to place where the original references come from now.

Has it in any way influenced how you watch movies from now on?

It’s inevitable that new films will pay homage to this classic. I wasn’t a fan of the recently released Passengers but you could see that certain elements had been inspired by 2001.

Should you have watched 2001: A Space Odyssey sooner, and what would you say to someone that still hasn’t watched it?

Truthfully I probably should have yes, however I’m not sure that I would have enjoyed it as much if I had have watched it as a teenager. As now I tend to appreciate all the elements that go into making a movie more. Being able to discover classics for the first time is such an enjoyable experience. 
If you haven’t seen it then I’d certainly recommend buying 2001, sitting down and just enjoying this masterpiece.

Thanks for that Ken. What a splendid set of answers. 

I remember when I watched 2001 for the first time I found myself in awe of the intricacy on display throughout the film. It amazed me how every aspect of the movie from the script to the soundtrack managed to contribute to its overall success. 

Is there anything or anyone you’d like to take the opportunity to promote?

Thanks again for taking the time to answer these questions Ken, it’s been a pleasure to work on this with you. Can everyone please take a minute to follow Ken on Twitter at @KenMajor83 and while your there follow me at @ReffingMovies.

If you, like Ken, have recently watched a film you believe Should’ve Been Seen Sooner, please get in touch. I mostly use my twitter account but comments on this page are more than welcome.

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

