Movies I Should’ve Watched Sooner: The Blues Brothers (feat @FilmAndTV101)

In recent Movies I Should’ve Watched Sooner, I have had the opportunity to work with some highly knowledgeable people about their immediate reactions to films loved by the vast majority of people. However, in a return to the norm (somewhat) the answers will come from this handsome devil himself. The difference this time being that the questions have come from Ms. FilmAndTV101 herself, Kira Comerford. So without further ado, let’s get in to it.

Kira: Why did it take you so long to see this film?

Josh: I can’t put my finger on it to be honest, I’ve heard so many great things about it, however I assumed it would have been one of those films that you should have watched early. It always seemed to me that it would look dated. Thankfully, I was very very wrong!

Kira: Who was your favourite character & why?

Josh: As good as John Belushi’s Jake was, I loved Dan Aykroyd’s Elwood. His determination to keep Jake out of prison while at the same time showing a blatant disregard to the Law himself continued to make me laugh. Aykroyd plays these straight guys with such whimsical grace. Although he is the person used to show off Belushi’s comedic skills, he has his fair share of brilliantly funny lines

Kira: What was your favourite part/scene & why?

Josh: The “Shake Your Tail Feather” dance segment with Ray Parker Jr. There are toe-tapping music numbers, and then there is this! What a piece of choreography in both the music store and the streets outside it. I might even have had a little dance myself

Kira: Was there anything you disliked about the film, or that you weren’t quite so fond of & why?

Josh: The film did feel a little long. As good as it was throughout, by the time they had destroyed the Petrol Station I found myself questioning how much more hi jinx these 2 brothers could get up to in the remaining 30/40 minutes. Don’t get me wrong, when the final chase kicks off, it is cinema gold, however getting there felt a bit of a task.

Kira: Should I have watched The Blues Brothers sooner?

Josh: I should yes! As a big fan of SNL alumni comedies from the 80s, it is nonsense to consider that I’ve missed the film that potentially kickstarted a genre I’ve held in such high regard for so long.

Josh: Thanks for doing this Kira, is there anything you’d like to promote or credit?

Kira: The only thing I guess you could credit would be my review of The Blues Brothers from way back in case people would like to hear my thoughts on one of my all time favourite films

Thanks again for doing this Kira, for some excellent content and very friendly conversations be sure to follow Kira’s Blog and Twitter to tell her what a great job she’s doing.

Are there any films you have recently watched that you Should’ve Watched Sooner? Please get in touch via Twitter, Facebook or the comments and don’t forget to check out all of the previous movies I Should’ve Watched Sooner

Leave a Reply

