Movies I Should’ve Watched Sooner: Big Trouble in Little China

Released in 1986, Big Trouble in Little China saw Kurt Russell reunite with John Carpenter in what couldn’t be further from their last partnership if it tried. In 1982, Russell and Carpenter combined to produce one of the most captivating Horror movies of the last 40 years. 

To this day, The Thing is widely regarded as one of those films you must watch regardless of your preference towards the genre. So, you can imagine the excitement of fans some 3/4 years later when it was announced the two would again be working together to produce a Sci-Fi Comedy based around mysticism and gangs in the China Town suburb of New York City.

So many people have told me of the enjoyment they have had watching Big Trouble in Little China over the years, and part of me can see why. However, much like when I watched Gremlins, I think I shouldve probably watched it as an optimistic youngster, not as a bitter 26 year old. 

Don’t get me wrong, with all of the bright lights and loud noises I did find it thoroughly enjoyable at a physical level, however in terms of understanding I must admit it left a lot to be desired. I found myself rewatching certain scenes, looking up elements and taking time to process the mayhem being displayed in front of me. 

This was raucousness at its epitome, the performance of Russell as the brash Jack Burton was both entertaining and endearing. His ability to portray enigmatic arrogance in conjunction with wistful insecurity held my attention throughout even though I couldn’t for the life of me tell you a single thing that happened in the story.

Leave a Reply

